2020/21 REPORT

League Position: 14th

Top League Goalscorer: Wilfried Zaha (11)

Stadium: Selhurst Park, Selhurst, London, SE25 6PU

Capacity: 25,480

In what turned out to be Roy Hodgson's final season in charge of Palace, they had numerous ups and downs that saw them reach as high as fifth but also drop no lower than 15th. Wins against Manchester United and Southampton got their campaign going but were followed by defeats to Chelsea and Everton.

Their campaign continued in that way, wins followed quickly by defeats, to the point where they had neither won nor lost more than two on the bounce by April. A run of six losses in eight to end the season confirmed a lower finish in the table than fans would have liked based on their promising post-Christmas form.

Both of their cup campaigns ended after one game. Adama Traoré scored the only goal as they lost to Wolves in the Emirates FA Cup Third Round. They took AFC Bournemouth to penalties in the Carabao Cup, losing 11-10 after both keepers had taken spot-kicks. Luka Milivojević scored his first attempt but missed his second, David Brooks completing the win for The Cherries.


On Tuesday 16 August 1977, Fourth Division Brentford met Second Division Crystal Palace in a League Cup second leg tie at Selhurst Park. Over 8,000 had watched at Griffin Park (pictured below) as The Bees stunned their opponents with a 2-1 win, Gordon Sweetzer netting both. Three days later, Palace showed their class with a 5-1 (6-3 aggregate) victory.

The hosts got an early goal to make it 2-2 overall but it took until the second half for anything else to happen. The hosts scored again just after the restart but Steve Phillips fired home a leveller minutes later. With 15 minutes to go, The Eagles fired home three quick goals in the space of 10 minutes to kill the tie.

Bees: Len Bond, John Fraser, Mike Allen, Barry Lloyd, Pat Kruse, Paul Shrubb, Danis Salman (Terry Glynn), Jackie Graham, Gordon Sweetzer, Andy McCulloch, Steve Phillips

Palace: Tony Burns, Paul Hinshelwood, Ken Sansom, George Graham, Jim Cannon, Ian Evans, Vince Hilaire, Nick Chatterton, Jeff Bourne, Steve Perrin, Rachid Harkouk