The draw for the First Round of the Carabao Cup was made last week without Brentford for only the third time ever. A total of 70 teams were drawn into 35 ties to be played on the week of 9 August. The full draw can be seen here.

The Bees will enter the competition at the Second Round stage, along with all other Premier League sides that are not in European competition. West Bromwich Albion and Fulham also enter in the Second Round. The only other times The Bees entered in the Second Round were in 1960, when they were drawn a bye, and 1965, when only 38 teams were in the First Round.

The Second Round will be played on the week of Monday 23 August with the Third Round scheduled for the week of Monday 20 September. The Fourth Round will be on the week of Monday 25 October with the last eight ties on the week before Christmas. Semi-Final ties will be played over two legs in the first two full weeks of January.

When Brentford enter the competition they will be looking to repeat the success of last year. The Bees beat four Premier League sides on their way to the Semi-Final. It was the first time Brentford had ever reached the last four of a major competition.

Brentford's run came to an end against Tottenham Hotspur. The Bees head beaten Southampton, West Brom, Fulham and Newcastle United to reach that stage. Tottenham then lost to Manchester City in the Final in April.