Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Wissa wins Carabao Cup Goal of the Tournament

Oldham overhead takes the prize

13 March 2022

Yoane Wissa has won the Carabao Cup Goal of the Tournament prize. There was a public vote to decide the winner after four goals made the final short list. Wissa came out on top.

The winner was a goal against Oldham Athletic. Yoane scored two as The Bees beat Oldham 7-0 in the Third Round in September. His second was an acrobatic overhead effort from a Saman Ghoddos cross that took the prize.

Liverpool won the Carabao Cup on Sunday 27 February beating Chelsea in a lengthy penalty shoot-out. The Bees had reached the last eight for the second consecutive year, but only the second time ever. Forest Green Rovers, Oldham and Stoke City were beaten before The Bees lost to Chelsea, the second consecutive year Brentford have been beaten by the losing finalists. Yoane scored three goals for The Bees in the run.

Advertisement block