Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Thomas misses out on Danish coaching prize

Brentford Head Coach not chosen as award winner

22 March 2022

Brentford FC Head Coach Thomas Frank has missed out on the 2021 Danish Football Association Coach of the Year prize. Thomas won the 2020 award for his work leading Brentford to the Sky Bet Championship Play-Off Final in the 2019/20 season. He was nominated for the 2021 prize but Denmark national coach Kasper Hjulmand took the prize.

A total of 64 voting coaches from the Danish Superliga to the third division, the women's two best ranks and all national coaches have submitted their votes for the greatest coaching performances in 2021 and ranked what they believe have been the four best. Thomas made the shortlist for the second year in a row alongside Brøndby's Niels Frederiksen, Mainz 'Bo Svensson and Hjulmand. Hjulmand took Denmark to the Semi-Final of the delayed UEFA 2020 European Championships last summer, and that earned him the award.

Thomas became only the second man ever to lead Brentford in to the top flight when The Bees won promotion in 2021. Brentford finished third in the Championship for the second season in a row, earning more points than they had the year before. They again reached the Play-Off Final and this time won it, beating Swansea City. Brentford are currently 15th in the Premier League.

Both Thomas and Kasper Hjulmand are previous winners of the award. When Thomas won it last year he was the first coach working overseas to take the prize. Previous winners have included Åge Hareide, Morten Olsen and Ståle Solbakken. Hjulmand won it in 2012 and 2017.

Advertisement block