Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Premier League issue Hall of Fame Update

Two players added and vote underway for extra inductees

25 March 2022

The Premier League will induct a further eight former players into its official Hall of Fame this season and fans will have a say on who will enter. The Hall of Fame is the highest individual honour awarded to players by the League. It recognises and celebrates the exceptional players who have showcased their talent in the Premier League since its inception in 1992.

Thierry Henry and Alan Shearer became the inaugural inductees into the Premier League Hall of Fame last year. They were joined by David Beckham, Dennis Bergkamp, Eric Cantona, Steven Gerrard, Roy Keane and Frank Lampard, who were selected following a fan and panel vote to complete the "Class of 2021". Manchester United and Everton striker Wayne Rooney and current Crystal Palace boss Patrick Vieira were inducted into the Premier League Hall of Fame earlier this week. A fan vote is underway for six extra spaces.

The 25 nominees were announced this week. A fan vote will decide which six will join Rooney and Vieira in the Class of 2022. To be eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame this year, players must have been retired as of 1 January 2022, and only a player’s Premier League career is considered in his candidacy. All inducted players receive a medallion engraved with their name and the year of their induction, with a £10,000 donation made by the Premier League to a charity of their choice.

Details on how to vote can be seen here. There is also more information on every candidate on the Premier League website and social media. More on Rooney and Vieira can be seen here.

Advertisement block