Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Carabao Cup prize for Marcus

Striker takes top scorer honour

1 June 2022

The performances of Marcus Forss in the Carabao Cup earned him a share of top spot in the competition's leading scorers list. Brentford reached the last eight of the competition this year. Marcus scored five goals in that run and no-one scored more in the tournament.

Brentford started in the Second Round and came from behind to beat Forest Green Rovers 3-1. Marcus scored the third goal that night to ensure The Bees beat the Sky Bet League Two side. Bryan Mbeumo and Yoane Wissa scored the other goals.

In the Third Round Brentford beat Oldham Athletic 7-0. Marcus found the net four times that night, scoring a first half hat-trick and adding a fouth late on. Wissa also scored two that evening.

Brentford beat Stoke City in the Fourth Round before losing to Chelsea in the Quarter Finals. Marcus was unable to add to his tally but his five goals was not beaten by anyone else. See below

When Marcus scored four against Oldham he broke a series of records. He became the first Brentford player to score four times in a match since Mike Grella did so in an EFL Trophy tie against AFC Bournemouth in November 2011 and also became the first Brentford player to ever score a hat-trick in an EFL Cup tie. More impressively, his tally of nine EFL Cup goals equals the record held by Gary Blissett.

Advertisement block