Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Ivan and Christian get FWA votes

Bees pair selected by writers

29 April 2022

Two Brentford stars received votes in the Football Writers’ Association Footballers of the Year poll. It was announced earlier today, Friday 29 April, that Mohamed Salah and Sam Kerr had won the awards. The FWA have confirmed to Brentford FC that Ivan Toney and Christian Eriksen both received votes.

The Football Writers' Association Footballer of the Year is an annual award given to the player who is adjudged to have been the best of the season in English football. The award has been presented since the 1947–48 season. Liverpool attacker Mohamed Salah won the award for male players this year while Sam Kerr won the award for female players.

Salah received 48 per cent of the vote beating Kevin De Bruyne, of Manchester City, and Declan Rice, of West Ham United, who finished second and third in the poll. It is the second time Salah has been recognised, having won the award in 2018. In total, 31 players from 12 different clubs won votes, including Ivan and Christian.

Ivan looks set to end the season at Brentford’s top scorer. He has grabbed 12 goals in 29 Premier League appearances this season and 14 goals in all competitions. He is also closing in on 50 goals for The Bees. Only five players, including Salah, have scored more Premier League goals that Ivan this season.

Christian joined Brentford at the end of January and has made seven appearances so far, scoring once and providing two assists. He joined The Bees to make a comeback to professional football after suffering a cardiac arrest playing for Denmark last summer. In his time with The Bees he has also played twice for his country, the first games since the cardiac arrest, and scored in both.

The FWA comprises hundreds of football journalists based in England. Salah and Kerr will receive their awards at the Footballer of the Year Dinner on May 5. See more on the FWA website here.

Advertisement block