Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Bees given Bye in First Round of EFL Football Manager Cup

Sam Jacques through to last 32

19 April 2020

Sam Jacques has been handed a path through to the Second Round of the EFL Football Manager Cup after receiving a bye in the First Round.

This afternoon's draw has thrown up some intriguing ties with a Severn derby between Bristol City and Bristol Rovers, a clash between Leeds and Nottingham Forest, while Romaine Sawyers will take charge of West Bromwich Albion at home to Coventry City.

The 22 First Round winners will join Sam, and the likes of Luton Town, Blackburn Rovers, and Salford City, in next week's Second Round. 


The tournament will see 54 clubs from across the EFL, each represented by a virtual manager, face off in a straight knockout competition with the final two teams left standing facing off in the showpiece final in mid-May.

After each round is completed, highlights will be uploaded onto the FM YouTube channel for you to catch up on all of the action and there will be a full written round-up on the FM website.

As well as supporting The Bees during the tournament, you can also show your support for the EFL’s charity partner, Mind, the mental health charity. In these tough times their services are needed more than ever so while you’re being entertained by the action, please consider donating on this JustGiving page which will be open during the tournament.


•    First round draw – Sunday 19 April
•    First round match dates – Monday 20 April to Thursday 23 April
•    The second round – week commencing 27 April 
•    The ‘round of 16’ – week commencing 4 May
•    The quarter finals – 11-14 May
•    The semi-finals – Saturday 16 May
•    The final – Sunday 17 May


AFC Wimbledon – Rob Tuvey (U18s Manager)
Birmingham City – Lee Camp (Player)
Blackburn Rovers – Adam Armstrong (Player)
Blackpool FC – Cameron Omar (Supporter)
Bolton Wanderers – Paul Huddy (Kitman)
Bradford City – Kieran Devanny (Supporter)
Brentford FC – Sam Jacques (Supporter)
Bristol City – Mikey Cobban (YouTuber/Supporter)
Bristol Rovers – Mikey Bell (Ex-Professional Rugby Player)
Carlisle United – Riegan Thompson (Supporter)
Charlton Athletic – Alex Avery (Marketing Manager)
Colchester United – Ollie Kensdale (Player)
Coventry City – Ryan Lawrence (Supporter)
Crawley Town – Sam Gadsdon (Social Media Admin)
Crewe Alexandra – Jack Marsland (Supporter)
Derby County – Paul Wilson (Supporter)
Doncaster Rovers – Luke Benniston (Supporter)
Exeter City – Nicky Law (Player)
Forest Green Rovers – Chris Stokes (Player)
Fulham FC – Charlie Cooper (Star of This Country)
Huddersfield Town – Karlan Grant (Player)
Ipswich Town – Joe Fairs (Supporter)
Leeds United – Rob Callery 
Leyton Orient – Dan Williams 
Lincoln City – Thomas Kelsey (YouTuber)
Luton Town – George Osborn (Ukie)
Macclesfield Town – Daniel Fry (FM WEC Champion)
Mansfield Town – Jamie King (Supporter)
Middlesbrough – Neil Trewick (Supporter)
MK Dons – George Williams (Player)
Newport County – Gareth Swattridge (FM Researcher)
Northampton Town – Leigh Reeve (FM Creators’ Cup Champion)
Nottingham Forest – Joe Lolley (Player)
Oldham Athletic – Jonny Smith (Player)
Peterborough United – Kevin Chapman/Lollujo (YouTuber)
Plymouth Argyle – Luke Omega (Gamer)
Port Vale – Jim Martin
Portsmouth FC – TBC
Preston North End – James Moulding (Supporter)
Queens Park Rangers – Rob Facey (Supporter)
Rochdale AFC – Elliott Howells (Supporter)
Rotherham United – Matt Neil (First-team Analyst)
Salford City – Cameron Burgess (Player)
Scunthorpe United – Harry Jamieson (Backroom staff)
Shrewsbury Town – Shaun Whalley (Player)
Southend United – Ellis Gamon (Supporter)
Stoke City - Tommy Williams (Supporter)
Swansea City – Gareth Richards (Supporter)
Swindon Town – Lewis Hathaway/FM Doop (FM Streamer)
Tranmere Rovers – James Knipe 
Walsall FC – Ryan Duckhouse
West Bromwich Albion – Romaine Sawyers (Player)
Wigan Athletic – Jordan Coyle
Wycombe Wanderers – Craig Anderson (Supporter)


• Matches to be played on FM20 Touch Versus mode, teams must play as themselves. 
• This is a straight knockout tournament, with all ties comprising one game. Each tie will go to Extra Time and Penalties, if necessary, to produce a winner. 
• The ‘Home’ team of each tie will host the match 
• Suspensions/Injuries won't carry over to the next round

Advertisement block