Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Young Journalist of the Year announced

Prizes given out at last game of season

12 May 2019

Tanush Gupta from Alexandra Primary School has been crowned “Young Fearless Journalist of the Year”. Tanush, pictured second from left, took part in Brentford FC Community Sports Trust’s journalism project, which encourages local children to unlock their creative potential and develop their writing skills. Run in partnership with the Fearless Foundation, the project was set up in memory of The Daily Star's chief football reporter Danny Fullbrook who died of cancer aged just 40 in 2012.

The journalism project involves school children writing a match report at Griffin Park Learning Zone, which is subsequently reviewed by a selection of judges. This year, Brentford captain Romaine Sawyers joined Danny Fullbrook’s family to review the match reports and award Tanush the prestigious prize. He is also presented Tanush with his trophy on the pitch before Brentford's last game of the season against Preston North End last weekend.

Mark Dickinson, who was friends with Danny Fullbrook since their university days, helped set up the Fearless Foundation in 2013. He said: “When we set up the Fearless Foundation our ethos was always about encouraging children and young people to be ‘fearless’ with their aspirations. By helping thousands of children discover their writing potential, Danny’s legacy lives on.”

This year alone, the project worked with nine primary schools and more than 600 local school children. And for the EFL Day of Action, back in March, pupils from Heston Primary School took part in the project at Brentford’s training ground - quizzing Brentford players Yoann Barbet, Emiliano Marcondes and Tom Field in a press-conference style setting. Eight pupils also had the opportunity to question EFL CEO Shaun Harvey and receive a journalism masterclass from Sky Sports News presenter Scott Minto.

Avesta, from Smallberry Green Primary School, won second place and Caoilain Lewis, of Oaklands Primary School, won third place. Grace Kelly, from St Joseph’s Primary School, and Sylvie Flynn, from St Mark’s Primary School, were runners-up.

For more information about education projects please email

Advertisement block