Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Sky Bet Championship 2019/20

With Play-Off Semi-Finals complete, division continues to take shape

16 May 2019

Leeds United became the latest team to have their place in the Sky Bet Championship for the 2019/20 season confirmed as records were broken last night. The Sky Bet Play-Offs are well underway and Leeds played Derby County in the second semi-final, which concluded last night. The teams were looking to earn a place in the Championship Play-Off Final and a one-off game at Wembley against Aston Villa for a place in the Premier League.

Leeds led 1-0 after the first leg and took the lead on the night when Stuart Dallas scored. But Derby hit back with three goals either side of half time to take the lead in the tie. Dallas scored again but Derby found the sixth goal of the night and seventh of the tie to progress. Leeds will therefore be in the Championship next year after becoming the first team in the history of the second tier Play-Offs to win the first leg away from home and not win the tie.

That means 22 of the 24 teams that will be competing in the second tier next season are now confirmed. Brentford ended the Championship season 11th in the table, securing a top half finish for the fifth year in a row. The Bees will, for the sixth season in succession, be in the second tier next season and the last season of football at Griffin Park will be with Brentford as a Championship side.

With West Bromwich Albion, who lost to Villa in the other Play-Off Semi-Final, and Leeds staying down, 17 of the 18 teams that will remain in the second tier are now confirmed. Premier League relegation places have also been decided – and the teams coming down include West London rivals Fulham, who will get a last visit to Griffin Park. Two of the three teams coming up from League One are also known.

The full list of Sky Bet Championship teams confirmed for 2019/20 is as follows:

Cardiff City


Huddersfield Town

Leeds United

West Bromwich Albion


Bristol City

Nottingham Forest

Swansea City


Sheffield Wednesday

Hull City

Preston North End

Blackburn Rovers

Stoke City

Birmingham City

Wigan Athletic

Queens Park Rangers



Luton Town


The two remaining places in the Championship will be filled over the ten days. The losers of the Derby v Villa Play-Off Final will take one spot and there are four more teams that could win promotion from Sky Bet League One. Charlton Athletic, Portsmouth, Sunderland and Doncaster Rovers will contest the Play-Offs and one will win promotion at the end of the month. Sunderland beat Portsmouth 1-0 in their first leg while Charlton won 2-1 at Doncaster. Those ties will be settled by the end of the week.


Advertisement block