Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Sky Bet Championship 2019/20

Two more opponents for Brentford next year confirmed

1 May 2019

Brentford already know they will be playing Sky Bet Championship football in 2019/20 but now know two more of their opponents after the League One promotion paces were decided last night. A draw at Millwall on Good Friday confirmed The Bees would be in the second tier next term no matter their results for the rest of the season and 16 other teams are in the same position. Brentford will, for the sixth season in a row, be in the second tier next season and the last season of football at Griffin Park will be with The Bees as a Championship side.

With one game of the Championship season remaining for most sides, 13 teams in the division cannot go up or down. They, including The Bees, will remain in the second tier for next season. Two other teams are also guaranteed Sky Bet Championship football next season – Huddersfield Town and Fulham, who have been relegated from the Premier League. And last night, defeats for Portsmouth and Sunderland confirmed the top two in League One. Luton Town and Barnsley now cannot be caught at the top of the division and will be in the second tier next season.

The full list of Sky Bet Championship teams confirmed for 2019/20 is as follows:


Huddersfield Town

Sheffield Wednesday

Nottingham Forest

Swansea City

Preston North End

Hull City

Blackburn Rovers


Stoke City

Birmingham City

Wigan Athletic

Queens Park Rangers



Luton Town


The seven remaining places in the Championship will be filled over the next month. One more team will be relegated from the Premier League and it is likely to be decided soon. Cardiff City occupy the final relegation place at present and they are four points behind Brighton and Hove Albion with two games remaining. They cannot catch anyone else.

There are five more teams that could win promotion from Sky Bet League One. Sunderland, Portsmouth and Charlton Athletic are confirmed in the Play-Offs and the last place will go to either Doncaster Rovers or Peterborough United. That final Play-Off place will be decided on Saturday. Four teams will then play for the promotion and a place in the Championship.

The six other places in the second tier next year will go to current Championship teams. The relegation spots are decided with Rotherham United, Bolton Wanderers and Ipswich Town already down. At the other end there are still seven teams fighting for one promotion place with Norwich City and Sheffield United confirmed in the Premier League for 2019/20. Leeds United, West Bromwich Albion and Aston Villa are confirmed in the Play-Offs and Derby County, Middlesbrough and Bristol City have their sights set on the last spot in the top six. Derby face Swansea tonight and a win would make their spot in the top six almost certain.

Season Tickets

Advertisement block