Skip to main content Skip to site footer
First Team

Carabao Cup draw this evening

Bees to find out opponents later

20 June 2019

The draw for the First Round of the Carabao Cup will take place this evening. Brentford and 69 other teams from the Sky Bet Championship, League One and League Two will find out their opponents at 7pm. There will be 70 EFL Clubs in the Round One draw which will see teams drawn in Northern and Southern sections. Brentford will be Ball Three in the South draw.

Live from Morrisons, Colindale, at 7pm on Thursday, 20 June, the draw will take place within a short distance from Wembley Stadium – the home of the Carabao Cup Final. The balls will be drawn by John Barnes and Ray Parlour and a full list of the teams involved can be seen here. Matches are scheduled to take place week commencing 12 August. Huddersfield Town will be included, while fellow Championship newcomers Cardiff City and Fulham join the competition in Round Two alongside the Premier League Clubs that are not competing in Europe.

Fans will be able to watch the draw live in store and also tune in to the Carabao Cup Facebook and Twitter pages, with live text updates across EFL Channels. Brentford's opponents will also be confirmed on our channels as soon as it is known.

Brentford reached the Third Round last season and pushed Arsenal close at The Emirates Stadium in front of almost 8,000 travelling Bees fans. A 4-2 win at Southend United in the First Round was notable for first Brentford goals for Saïd Benrahma, Julian Jeanvier and Marcus Forss - the latter two on their debuts. Jeanvier scored again as Cheltenham Town were beaten a round later and The Bees then faced Arsenal, losing 3-1.

Advertisement block