Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Neal Maupay named EFL Player of the Year at London Football Awards

Striker picks up gong at tonight's ceremony

28 February 2019

Neal Maupay has collected the EFL Player of the Year prize at tonight’s London Football Awards.

The 22-goal striker beat Karlan Grant (Charlton Athletic), Lee Gregory (Millwall), Lyle Taylor (Charlton Athletic), and Luke Freeman (Queens Park Rangers) to the award, sponsored by Sky Bet, at tonight’s star-studded ceremony at Battersea Evolution.

The striker has been involved in 25 league goals this term, scoring 19 and assisting six, and is on course to become the first Brentford player to hit 20 league goals in a season since Lloyd Owusu in 2002.

For the second-year running the Brentford Community Sports’ Trust were shortlisted for the work they do in our local area. Their Ambassadors programme, which saw five members of the squad, including captain Romaine Sawyers, goalkeeper Daniel Bentley, and defender Yoann Barbet sign up as community ambassadors, was up for the award, in association with the Evening Standard. However, that award went to ….

The winners were announced as part of an evening which has become an increasingly high-profile event in the sporting calendar. The awards, selected by a panel of leading ex-players, football administrators and journalists, raise funds for Willow, the only national charity providing Special Days for seriously ill 16-40-year-olds.

These Special Days enable them and their families to reconnect and refocus on each other while enjoying an activity of their choosing. A day for them, a day about them and a day that will create memories they will all treasure forever.

Willow was founded by former Arsenal goalkeeper and TV presenter Bob Wilson and his wife, Megs, as a lasting memorial to their daughter Anna, who died of cancer aged 31. Since 1999 the charity has fulfilled more than 13,000 Special Days for young adults living with life-threatening conditions such as cancer, motor neurone disease, cystic fibrosis and muscular dystrophy.

Other winners tonight included a win for Tottenham Hotspur's Son Heung-Min as Premier League Footballer of the Year. His manager Mauricio Pochettino was crowned Manager of the Year with Crystal Palace's Andros Townsend picking up Goal of the Season prize.

Find out more about the awards and the work the Willow Foundation does here.

Advertisement block