Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Roger Cross placed in to Hall of Fame

Accolade for former striker

4 May 2018

One of the stars of the 1970s has become one of four Bees stars to be inducted in to the Brentford FC Hall of Fame. Roger Cross will be officially inducted on Sunday, 4 May, at the Brentford FC Player of the Year Awards. The 69-year-old will be present on the night to receive a special commemorative salver from Brentford FC Chairman Cliff Crown. There will also be three posthumous inductions in to the Hall of Fame with Wally Bragg, Ian Dargie and George Poyser also inducted on Sunday.

Roger joined Brentford from West Ham United in the 1969/1970 season but left for Fulham within two seasons. He returned to Griffin Park for a second five-year spell in 1972 and established himself as a Brentford favourite. The powerful striker played more than 200 league games during his two spells at Griffin Park and scored more than 60 goals in all competitions. He now works at Southend United.

As well as being at the Player of the Year Awards night, Roger will also be a special guest when Brentford entertain Hull City at Griffin Park on Sunday. He will be in the Legends Lounge for the match along with fellow Hall of Famers Bobby Ross, Jackie Graham and Alan Hawley. Also going in to the Hall of Fame this week are Wally Bragg, Ian Dargie and George Poyser.

Wally was only 17 when he made his Brentford debut against Arsenal in 1947, at the time our youngest-ever First Team player. He made more than 150 appearances at centre half in 12 years at Griffin Park, before retiring due to injury in 1957. He died in 2016.

Ian joined Brentford from non-league Tonbridge in February 1952 and made more than 280 appearances for the club over a ten-year period, 100 of them consecutively. He left Griffin Park in 1963 and later joined Crystal Palace and Charlton Athletic’s back-room team. He died in 2015.

A defender, George joined Brentford in 1934 and gave the club 12-years of service, some of which was interrupted by the second world war. He made more than 150 appearances, most of which in the top flight of English football. George later managed Notts County and Manchester City. George died in 1995.

The quartet join an ever-growing Brentford FC Hall of Fame which also includes Malcolm MacDonald, Joe James, Ken Coote Phil Holder, Dean Holdsworth, Terry Evans, Bob Booker, Peter Gelson and current B Team Head Coach Kevin O’Connor. The Hall of Fame is administered jointly by the Club, and The Brentford FC Former Players’ Association.

Advertisement block