Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship

Second tier now decided after League One Play-Off Final

28 May 2018

The 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship was finalised yesterday as the last place was won by Rotherham United. The Millers beat Shrewsbury Town 2-1 after extra time to win the League One Play-Off Final at a baking Wembley yesterday afternoon. Centre half Richard Wood scored twice – and took his tally to three in this year’s Play-Offs – to get his team over the line and earn them a place in the Championship for next year.

The 24 teams confirmed in the Championship next season are as follows:

Swansea City
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
Aston Villa
Derby County
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Bristol City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Norwich City
Sheffield Wednesday
Queens Park Rangers
Nottingham Forest
Hull City
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Wigan Athletic
Blackburn Rovers
Rotherham United

Rotherham’s promotion came after just one year in the third tier. The Millers were promoted with Brentford in 2014, again winning the Play-Offs, and spent three years in the Championship before relegation. Brentford had the better of the games in the second tier, winning four of six, including all three at Griffin Park. But The Millers won both games when the teams were promoted in 2013/14 and have won three of the last four in South Yorkshire.

With the second tier now set, there is only one game remaining in the English season. Exeter City will play Coventry City in the League Two Play-Off Final today to finalise the 72 teams in their divisions for next season. The fixture compilers will then get to work to put together the fixture lists for 2018/19, which will be released on Thursday 21 June.

Lots of Bees supporters have already secured their places for our 2018/19 Championship season. All seats are now on General Sale so don’t forget to buy your 2018/19 Season Tickets here before our Early Bird Deadline on Thursday 31 May.

Advertisement block