Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship

Aston Villa take place in next season's second tier after Fulham loss

27 May 2018

There is now only one place left up for grabs in the 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship as the end of the 2017/18 season edges closer. The European football season drew to a close last night as Real Madrid beat Liverpool in the UEFA Champions League Final. But closer to home, Aston Villa were being confirmed as the 22nd opponent for Brentford next season.

The Midlands side were beaten 1-0 by Fulham in the Championship Play-Off Final at Wembley yesterday afternoon. Tom Cairney scored the only goal in the first half and Fulham survived the dismissal of Denis Odoi to take the win and a place in the Premier League. Aston Villa will, therefore, be back in the Championship next season.

The 23 teams confirmed in the Championship next season are as follows:

Swansea City
Stoke City
West Bromwich Albion
Aston Villa
Derby County
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Bristol City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Norwich City
Sheffield Wednesday
Queens Park Rangers
Nottingham Forest
Hull City
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Wigan Athletic
Blackburn Rovers

Next year will be the third season in the second tier for Villa since relegation in 2016. The Bees have had the better of recent meetings, drawing twice at Villa Park and winning both, televised, encounters at Griffin Park. On Boxing Day 2017 goals from Romaine Sawyers and Lasse Vibe gave The Bees the points after a 0-0 draw at Villa Park.

The last remaining spot in the Championship for 2018/19 will be decided this afternoon. The Sky Bet League One Play-Off Final will be contested by Shrewsbury Town and Rotherham United, who finished third and fourth in the division, behind Wigan and Blackburn. The winner at Wembley will earn promotion and a crack at the second tier.

Lots of Bees supporters have already secured their places for our 2018/19 Championship season. All seats are now on General Sale so don’t forget to buy your 2018/19 Season Tickets here before our Early Bird Deadline on Thursday 31 May.

Advertisement block