Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship

West Bromwich Albion relegated as Bees now know 18 opponents for next term

9 May 2018

The 19th team that will play in the 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship was confirmed last night. With the regular 2017/18 Championship season now over, attention can turn to the next campaign and the majority of places in the second tier for 2018/19 are now settled. The latest to know they will be in the Championship next term are West Bromwich Albion. A win for Southampton over Swansea City last night relegated The Baggies from the Premier League.

West Brom have won three of their last five games, losing none, but that was not enough to save them. They will be back in the second tier for the first time since 2010. They will also be making a return to Griffin Park for the first time in a generation. The Baggies last played in TW8 in a Worthington Cup tie in 1998. The Bees won that match 3-0 and progressed 4-2 over two legs. West Brom were last in the same division as Brentford in 1991/92 and beat The Bees home and away. The Bees, however, came out on top in the end, winning the Third Division title.

The 19 teams confirmed in the Championship next season are as follows:

West Bromwich Albion
Stoke City
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Bristol City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Norwich City
Sheffield Wednesday
Queens Park Rangers
Nottingham Forest
Hull City
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Wigan Athletic
Blackburn Rovers

The five remaining places in the Championship for next season will be filled over the three weeks and there are 11 teams that could fill them. Three teams will be coming down from the Premier League and three sides are trying to avoid joining Stoke and West Brom in the second tier. Swansea currently occupy the final relegation spot but they can still catch Huddersfield Town and, mathematically, Southampton

One place in the Championship will go to the League One Play-Off winners and four teams now know they will fight for that spot. Shrewsbury Town will play Charlton Athletic in one Semi-Final while Rotherham United and Scunthorpe United will play in the other. The winner of those two ties will play at Wembley on May 27 for a place in the second tier.

The three remaining spots in the division for next season will be filled by current Championship teams that fail to win promotion via the Play-Offs. Fulham will play Derby County and Aston Villa will face Middlesbrough in the Semi-Finals. The winners will then play for a place in the Premier League. One team will go up and the other three will have another visit to Griffin Park to look forward to.

Lots of Bees supporters have already secured their places for our 2018/19 Championship season. Until tomorrow at 10am, 2017/18 Season Ticket Holders and Club Members are having an exclusive access to the seats which haven’t been renewed. All available seats will then be on General Sale so don’t forget to buy your 2018/19 Season Tickets here before our Early Bird Deadline on Thursday 31 May.

Advertisement block