Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

The 2018/19 Sky Bet Championship

Who will be coming to Griffin Park next season?

7 May 2018

With the 2017/18 Sky Bet Championship season now over, attention can turn to the next campaign. And the majority of places in the second tier for 2018/19 are now confirmed. The Championship season ended yesterday and promotion, relegation and Play-Off issues were all decided. Brentford ended the season with a 1-1 draw against Hull City and are planning for the last full season at Griffin Park before a move to our new home in late 2019 to be the fifth in a row in the second tier of English football.

The Bees are one of 15 Sky Bet Championship teams that will definitely be staying in the second tier next year. Birmingham City, Reading and Bolton Wanderers joined that number by avoiding relegation while Preston North End and Millwall missed out on Play-Off places. Also, definitely joining the second tier next term are Stoke City, relegated from the Premier League, and Wigan Athletic and Blackburn Rovers, promoted from League One.

The 18 teams confirmed in the Championship next season are as follows:

Stoke City
Preston North End
Sheffield United
Bristol City
Ipswich Town
Leeds United
Norwich City
Sheffield Wednesday
Queens Park Rangers
Nottingham Forest
Hull City
Birmingham City
Bolton Wanderers
Wigan Athletic
Blackburn Rovers

The six remaining places in the Championship for next season will be filled over the three weeks and there are 12 teams that could fill them. Three teams will be coming down from the Premier League and with six days of the season to go, four teams are trying to avoid joining Stoke in the second tier. West Bromwich Albion and Swansea City currently occupy the final relegation spots but they can still catch Southampton and Huddersfield Town.

One place in the Championship will go to the League One Play-Off winners and four teams now know they will fight for that spot. Shrewsbury Town will play Charlton Athletic in one Semi-Final while Rotherham United and Scunthorpe United will play in the other. The winner of those two ties will play at Wembley on May 27 for a place in the second tier.

The three remaining spots in the division for next season will be filled by current Championship teams that fail to win promotion via the Play-Offs. Fulham will play Derby County and Aston Villa will face Middlesbrough in the Semi-Finals. The winners will then play for a place in the Premier League. One team will go up and the other three will have another visit to Griffin Park to look forward to.

Whatever happens before the end of the month, the Sky Bet Championship will be a thrilling division next season. Season Tickets are on sale now and Early Bird prices are available until 31 May.  Full information on Season Tickets can be seen at

Advertisement block