Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Daniel Bentley wins London Football Awards prize

Bees stopper named Goalkeeper of the Year at tonight's ceremony

1 March 2018

Daniel Bentley has been named the 2017/18 Goalkeeper of the Year, sponsored by Frogmore, at tonight’s London Football Awards.

The Bees stopper, who has kept 11 clean sheets in 34 Sky Bet Championship games, beat off competition from Adrián (West Ham United), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Heurelho Gomes (Watford), and Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur) to land the award at tonight’s star-studded ceremony at Battersea Revolution. Daniel has been an ever-present in the league this campaign and is closing in on last season’s tally of 13 Sky Bet Championship shutouts.

Elsewhere, Romaine Sawyers and Josh Clarke were beaten to the EFL Player of the Year award, sponsored by Corney and Barrow, by Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon while the Brentford FC Community Sports Trust’s Fearless Foundation’s Journalism Project finished runner-up to QPR’s #Game4Grenfell in the Community Project of the Year category.

The awards, selected by a panel of leading ex-players, football administrators and journalists, raise funds for Willow, the only national charity providing Special Days for seriously ill 16-40-year-olds. The charity was set up by former Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson and his wife, Megs, in memory of their daughter Anna, who died of cancer aged just 31. Since 1999 the charity has fulfilled more than 13,000 Special Days for young adults living with life-threatening conditions such as cancer, motor neurone disease, cystic fibrosis and muscular dystrophy.

Other winners tonight included Roy Hodgson, who was named Manager of the Year, and Jordon Nobbs, who won the Women's Player of the Year Award. Sessegnon was also named Young Player of the Year while Ian Wright picked up the Outstanding Contribution to London Football prize. Harry Kane was awarded the London Premier League Player of the Year award.

Advertisement block