Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Futsal Bees qualify for Trophy Finals Day

Futsal side reach last eight of national competition

18 March 2018

Brentford FC’s Futsal squad qualified for The EFLT Futsal Trophy Finals day at the Derby Arena earlier this month. The Bees were placed in a group with Sheffield Wednesday, Mansfield Town and Scunthorpe United in the draw - which took place at Griffin Park last month with Sky Sports News presenter Natalie Sawyer, Neal Maupay and Sergi Canos.

A challenging day started with a 7am departure and a 140-mile trip to the venue as The Bees faced Sheffield Wednesday first. Both sides looked more concerned about not losing than going for the win and it wasn’t a surprise when the game ended 0-0 and the teams took a point a piece in the round-robin format. 

Next up for Brentford were Mansfield Town who had lost to Scunthorpe in their first match. The Bees, playing in their green strip, conceded in the opening minutes due to a defensive lapse. However, this was the catalyst for a Bees onslaught as they recovered to win 4-1 against The Stags.

Going into their final match, the Futsal Bees knew that all three results could see them qualify for the finals. In what proved to be the match of the day, the 7-goal thriller offered lots of excitement and incident. The Iron took the lead, but Brentford equalised only to see their opponents retake the lead minutes later. Brentford again got on level terms but the game following the previous pattern, saw them concede shortly after to trail 3-2.

However, The Bees stuck to their task and equalised to make it 3-3. Brentford thought they had taken the lead when they scored from close range but was then chalked off for handball. Scunthorpe scored the winner with 75 seconds to go when the ball wasn’t cleared just outside the penalty area and a top-poke finish saw the Bees go down 4-3.

With Sheffield Wednesday only managing a 1-0 win, it was Brentford who went through on goal difference. Brentford now join seven other qualifiers who will compete for the Trophy on 1 May at the Derby Arena.

Advertisement block