Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Fixture News

Two fixture changes announced

Villa game live on Sky on Wednesday 22 August with Sheffield Wednesday now visiting on Sunday 19 August

28 June 2018

Brentford’s Sky Bet Championship game away to Aston Villa will be shown live by Sky Sports on Wednesday 22 August. This is one of two changes to the original fixture list, released last week. The game against Sheffield Wednesday at Griffin Park will now take place on Sunday 19 August. The game against Wednesday was pushed back 24 hours as The Owls are playing a Carabao Cup tie on Thursday 16 August. The Griffin Park game against Wednesday will kick-off at 3pm.

The fixture against Villa was originally scheduled for Tuesday 21 August but the clubs agreed to move the fixture back 24 hours after the game against Sheffield Wednesday was shifted. Sky Sports then chose the game for live coverage on the rearranged date of Wednesday 22 August. The game will kick-off at 7.45pm and ticket information will follow in due course.

The game at Villa will be the third away game in four for The Bees. After kicking off the season with a home game against Rotherham United on Saturday 4 August, Brentford travel to Stoke City on Saturday 11 August and then to Southend United in the Carabao Cup on the week commencing Monday 13 August. After the visit of Sheffield Wednesday to Griffin Park, Brentford will play Villa and then travel to Blackburn Rovers on Saturday 25 August.

A full list of fixtures can be seen here and don't forget, you can secure your place at Griffin Park for the 2018/19 campaign. Be There by buying your Season Ticket online today.

The game is one of seven selected for live broadcast by Sky Sports between 11 August and 25 August. With six games chosen by the broadcaster over the first weekend of the season, there will be 13 EFL games shown on Sky Sports in the month. Games up to the weekend of 25 August have now been chosen, the next selections will include the weekend of Saturday 1 September.

The following games have been chosen for live broadcast:

Saturday 11 August                  Derby County v Leeds United, 5.30pm
Friday 17 August                      Birmingham City v Swansea City, 7.45pm
Saturday 18 August                  Preston North End v Stoke City, 5.30pm
Tuesday 21 August                  Swansea City v Leeds United, 7.45pm
Wednesday 22 August             Aston Villa v Brentford, 7.45pm
Friday 24 August                      Middlesbrough v West Bromwich Albion, 7.45pm
Saturday 25 August                  Nottingham Forest v Birmingham City, 5.30pm

As with 2017/18, the EFL and broadcast partner Sky Sports have again committed to give clubs and supporters at least five weeks’ notice ahead of any EFL League matches being selected for live television coverage. In a small change to the policy from 2017/18, the EFL has outlined the dates when any changes will be announced to the public via the EFL’s digital and social channels, rather than the dates when clubs will be initially notified. The dates will again ensure any fixture changes are announced with a minimum of five weeks’ notice of the fixture taking place in order to give EFL supporters as much time as is possible to allow for any alterations to travel plans that may be required.

In addition, an amendment to this policy was made in March 2018, whereby a minimum of three weeks’ notice was put in place for the penultimate weekend of the season in order to ensure the most appropriate matches are picked for broadcast.


(Illustrative but subject to a five-week minimum notice commitment)

  • Selections for 1 September to 29 September by 27 July.
  • Selections for 3 October to 10 November by 24 August.
  • Selections for 17 November to 8 December by 12 October.
  • Selections for 15 December to 12 January by 9 November.
  • Selections for 19 January to 2 February by 14 December.
  • Selections for 9 February to 2 March by 4 January.
  • Selections for 9 March to 30 March by 1 February.
  • Selections for 6 April and 10 April by 1 March.
  • Selections for 13 April by 8 March.
  • Selections for 19 April to 22 April by 15 March.
  • Selections for 27 April by 5 April.

Advertisement block