Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


Selections made up to start of April

28 January 2018

All three EFL Sky Bet divisions feature throughout March and April in the latest selections of Sky Sports coverage, headlined by eight fixtures across Easter weekend.

Matches for March have been confirmed today, although further fixtures for the weekend of 17 March will be confirmed following the completion of the FA Cup Round Four matches.

League One’s Oxford United and Scunthorpe United kick off a triple header on Good Friday in a 12.45pm start at the Kassam Stadium, whilst Middlesbrough welcome Wolverhampton Wanderers in an intriguing battle at the top of the Sky Bet Championship at the Riverside Stadium, before Derby County host Sunderland in the evening fixture.

Saturday 31 March sees Hull City host Aston Villa, with Villans manager Steve Bruce returning to familiar surroundings having managed the Tigers for four years from 2012 to 2016.

Four live matches in just two days completes the coverage over the Easter weekend, starting at Deepdale as Derby County travel to Preston North End in a 12.45pm start on Monday 2 April.

Portsmouth then welcome current League One leaders Wigan Athletic, with Paul Cook returning to Fratton Park, before Easter Monday comes to a close as Sheffield United face Cardiff City in a battle between two of the current top six in the Championship.

Fulham play host to Leeds United in the final fixture over the Easter period on Tuesday 3 April, in a 7.45pm kick off at Craven Cottage. 

Earlier in March, Blackburn Rovers and Wigan Athletic will feature in a top of the table clash in League One, with a midday start at Ewood Park on Sunday 4 March.

A week later, Aston Villa welcome Wolverhampton Wanderers to Villa Park for a 5.30pm start on Saturday 10 March in a clash of Championship promotion contenders, with an eagerly anticipated East Midlands derby the following day between Nottingham Forest and Derby County at 2.30pm.

Doncaster Rovers face Bradford City on Monday 19 March, before another triple header of action across the 24 and 25 March. League Two Luton Town welcome local rivals Barnet to Kenilworth Road in 5.15pm start, before two fixtures on the Sunday.

Chesterfield will look to distance themselves from the Sky Bet League Two relegation zone as they welcome promotion contenders Notts County to the Proact, whilst Portsmouth host Oxford United in a 4pm kick off later in the day.

Blackburn Rovers will feature for a second time when they face Bradford City in a 7.45pm kick off on Thursday 29 March.

The list of games selected for live coverage are as follows:

Sunday 4 March                    Blackburn Rovers v Wigan Athletic 12.00pm

Saturday 10 March                Aston Villa v Wolverhampton Wanderers  5.30pm

Sunday 11 March                  Nottingham Forest v Derby County 2.30pm

Monday 19 March                 Doncaster Rovers v Bradford City 7.45pm

Saturday 24 March                Luton Town v Barnet 5.15pm

Sunday 25 March                  Chesterfield v Notts County 1.30pm

Sunday 25 March                  Portsmouth v Oxford United 4.00pm

Thursday 29 March               Blackburn Rovers v Bradford City 7.45pm

Friday 30 March                    Oxford United v Scunthorpe United 12.45pm

Friday 30 March                    Middlesbrough v Wolverhampton Wanderers 5.30pm

Friday 30 March                    Derby County v Sunderland 7.45pm

Saturday 31 March                Hull City v Aston Villa 5.30pm

Monday 2 April                      Preston North End v Derby County 12.45pm

Monday 2 April                      Portsmouth v Wigan Athletic                                       5.30pm

Monday 2 April                      Sheffield United v Cardiff City 7.45pm

Tuesday 3 April                     Fulham v Leeds United 7.45pm

Throughout the course of the 2017/18 season, Sky Sports will exclusively show 127 live matches from the Sky Bet EFL season - including the Play-Offs - as well as 15 matches from the Carabao Cup and at least three from the Checkatrade Trophy. 

TV SELECTION DATES 2017/18 (Illustrative but subject to a five-week minimum notice commitment)

  • From 23 February, a minimum five-week rolling selection commences for matches up to and including the penultimate weekend;
  • Clubs notified of selections for the final day made following the completion of the penultimate round of matches.

NB: The EFL has committed to publicly announcing any fixture changes within three working days in order to give EFL supporters as much time as is possible to allow for any alterations to travel plans that may be required.

Advertisement block