Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Bees secure host of nominations for London Football Awards

Charity award ceremony less than a month away

4 February 2018

Brentford will be well represented at the upcoming London Football Awards at Battersea Evolution on Thursday 1 March.

Daniel Bentley is up for the Goalkeeper of the Year prize while Romaine Sawyers and Josh Clarke are both on the five-man shortlist for the EFL Player of the Year. The Brentford Community Sports Trust’s Fearless Foundation’s Journalism Project is also in the running for the Community Project of the Year, sponsored by the Football Association.

Daniel is up against the Premier League quartet of Adrián (West Ham United), Thibaut Courtois (Chelsea), Heurelho Gomes (Watford), and Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur) after keeping 13 clean sheets in 2017, eight of those coming this campaign.

Former Brentford midfielder George Saville (Millwall), Fulham’s Ryan Sessegnon, and Queens Park Rangers goalkeeper Alex Smithies join Josh and Romaine on the shortlist for the EFL Player of the Year award. Josh made 36 appearances in 2017, scoring three goals, while Romaine Sawyers’ efforts last year saw him net 7 goals, and set up nine, in 47 appearances.  

Competing with the Community Sports Trust for the Community Project of the Year is AFC Wimbledon Women and Girls and QPR in the Community Trust’s #Game4Grenfell. The Danny Fullbrook Fearless Foundation was launched in 2013 in memory of Danny Fullbrook, the Daily Star’s Chief Football Correspondent who died last year at the age of 40. The foundation, which was set up by Danny's family and friends, aims to work with local community organisations to provide a variety of rung on the ladder opportunities for youngsters not currently in employment, education or training.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 1 March at Battersea Evolution as part of an evening which has become an increasingly high-profile event in the sporting calendar, with attendees in recent years including Arsene Wenger, Dimitri Payet, Aaron Ramsey, Roy Hodgson, Harry Redknapp and Harry Kane. The awards, selected by a panel of leading ex-players, football administrators and journalists, raise funds for Willow, the only national charity providing Special Days for seriously ill 16-40-year-olds.

The charity was set up by former Arsenal goalkeeper Bob Wilson and his wife, Megs, in memory of their daughter Anna, who died of cancer aged just 31. Since 1999 the charity has fulfilled more than 13,000 Special Days for young adults living with life-threatening conditions such as cancer, motor neurone disease, cystic fibrosis and muscular dystrophy.

Other prizes up for grabs are Premier League Player of the Year, Young Player of the Year, and Manager of the Year, which was won by Bees boss Mark Warburton in 2015. There are also awards for Women’s Player of the Year, and Outstanding contribution to a London Club.

Find out more about the awards and the work the Willow Foundation does here.

Advertisement block