Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Rico Henry named in England World Cup Squad

Defender to represent Young Lions in Under-20 tournament this summer

8 May 2017

Rico Henry has been selected in Paul Simpson's 21-man squad for the FIFA U20 World Cup in South Korea later this month. The Young Lions meet up at St George's Park this afternoon before flying out to Osaka, Japan for a six-day training camp ahead of the tournament.

Simpson's side begin their campaign against Argentina at the Jeonju World Cup Stadium on Saturday 20 May, before they tackle Guinea at the same venue on Tuesday 23 May. The final group game comes against host nation Korea Republic in Suwon on Friday 26 May, with the Young Lions hoping to extend their involvement beyond there as the competition heads into the knock-out stages.

Rico made his England Under-20 debut in March as England won a Four Team Tournament in Brittany against Portugal, France, and Senegal. The 19-year-old featured in all three games as England ended the tournament unbeaten. That tournament was just one part of a successful campaign which has seen the Young Lions beat nations such as Germany, Netherlands, and USA in a series of warm-up competitions.

Rico is believed to be the first current Brentford player ever to go to a World Cup at any age level while still with the club. 

The squad in full is as follows:


1. Freddie Woodman (Newcastle United) 
13. Dean Henderson (Manchester United) 
21. Luke Southwood (Reading)


2. Jonjoe Kenny  (Everton) 
3. Callum Connolly (Everton) 
5. Fikayo Tomori (Chelsea)  
6. Jake Clarke-Salter (Chelsea) 
12. Rico Henry (Brentford) 
14. Kyle Walker-Peters (Tottenham Hotspur) 
15. Dael Fry (Middlesbrough)


4. Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth) 
7. Josh Onomah                (Tottenham Hotspur) 
8. Ainsley Maitland-Niles (Arsenal) 
18. Kieran Dowell (Everton) 
19. Sheyi Ojo (Liverpool) 
20. Ovie Ejaria (Liverpool)


9. Adam Armstrong (Newcastle United) 
10. Dominic Solanke (Chelsea) 
11. Ademola Lookman (Everton) 
16. Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton) 
17. Harrison Chapman (Middlesbrough)

Advertisement block