Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Fearless Foundation winners announced

Lucy Brooks, Megan Litterick, Lovin Jose, Rajwansh Kapoor, and Eva Lamba pick up Fearless Journalism 2017 awards

25 May 2017

Over the course of the past five months, more than 750 children from schools in Hanwell, Ealing, and Hounslow have been working with The Fearless Foundation, the Griffin Park Learning Zone, and local journalists to unearth the 2017 Fearless Journalist winner.

The Fearless Foundation is a charity set up in the memory of Sports Journalist Danny Fullbrook, a talented journalist who passed away at the age of 40 after a battle with cancer. Those closest to Danny decided to celebrate his fearless nature by creating the Fearless Foundation, which works alongside sports organisations like Brentford to harness the power of sport.
Children from local schools, aged nine to 11, were challenged to write a match report from our 3-0 win over Aston Villa at Griffin Park back in January. With the help of Brentford FC Community Sports Trust coaches and local journalist Tom Moore, they watched the match back and spent time discussing the highlights and the best bits to include in their pieces of work. The children were encouraged to put in that extra bit of effort, be creative and take risks with their writing, in line with the values of the Fearless Foundation.
Danny’s mother, Sylvie and sister, Jo, enjoyed a visit to see one of the lessons in action at St Mark's Primary School. They both formed part of the judging panel, alongside Howard Wheatcroft - Head of Sport, Express Newspapers - and Lasse Vibe, who spent an afternoon deliberating between some incredibly strong match reports.
This year’s overall winner was Lucy Brooks who beat Megan Litterick and Lovin Jose into second and third with Rajwash Kapoor and Eva Lamba named as the runners-up. Lucy was presented with her trophy by Harlee Dean during a surprise visit to one of her lessons at St Joseph’s Catholic Primary on the Friday before The Bees’ season finale against Blackburn Rovers. All five winners were invited onto the pitch with their trophies for a photo before the game at Griffin Park and had their match reports showcased pre-match at Watermans Art Centre.
Well done to the following children, who were class winners and submitted some excellent work, who also attended the match with their families:
Joana Fernandes, Sarkis, Medha Jabbary, Yahye Hassan, Dominic Foley, Elliot Boone, Isobel Willetts, Archie Redgate, Scott King, Emily Lumsden, Nafisa Vohra, Nawal Egeh, Hristo Traev, Yusuf Ali, Omid Alizada, Safiyyah Choudry, Mohammed Nabeel, Mason Randles, Vanessa Lazda, T’chan Luke, Cassidy James, Anshul Gharti, and Tabassom Azimi.
The Trust and The Fearless Foundation would also like to thank the schools which took part:
Oldfield Primary, Oakland’s Primary School, Green Dragon Primary School, St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Heston Primary School, St Mark’s Primary School, Worple Primary School, Cavendish Primary School, Alexandra Primary, Wood End Academy, and Beavers Primary School

Advertisement block