Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Awards shared at Player of the Year dinner

Harlee Dean, Ryan Woods, and Jota among winners last night

8 May 2017

The awards were shared at tonight’s 2016/17 Player of the Year Awards’ dinner at the Radisson Blu Edwardian, Heathrow, with Harlee Dean, Ryan Woods, and Jota picking up the main prizes.

Brentford captain Dean was named the Supporters’ Player of the Year while Ryan Woods took the prize of Players’ Player of the Year. Jota crowned a fantastic 2017 personally by picking up the Goal of the Season prize following his wonder-strike in the 3-1 win over Queens Park Rangers last month.

Brentford captain Dean made 45 appearances for The Bees this season, 42 of them in the league, netting three goals as The Bees recorded a third consecutive finish in the Sky Bet Championship top ten. Harlee beat Ryan Woods and Jota into second and third in the Supporters' Player of the Year vote but it was Ryan who took home the Players' Player of the Year award. The 23-year-old also made 45 appearances in his first full season at Griffin Park, earning rave reviews at the heart of The Bees midfield.

As well as the Supporters’ Player of the Year award, Harlee was also presented with the Bees Travel Club Away Player of the Year by Linda Gilham for his performances on the road this season. Meanwhile, Lasse Vibe and Yoann Barbet shared the Community Player of the Year award, presented by Brentford FC Community Sports Trust CEO Lee Doyle, for the work they do with the Brentford FC Community Sports’ Trust in and around our local community. The Special Contribution Award was presented by Brentford Chief Executive Mark Devlin to John Magill who has been on the groundstaff at Griffin Park since 2012.

Zain Westbrooke, who made his first-team debut away at Fulham last weekend, picked up the B Team Players’ Player of the Year, presented by B Team Head Coach Kevin O’Connor. The Brentford B captain made 37 appearances for O’Connor’s side in their inaugural season, scoring five goals, and was one of five B Team players to make their first-team bow this campaign.  

Rounding off the awards was the return of an old favourite in the form of the Hottie of the Year Award. After a two year absence the award returned, as voted for by the fans, and it was Jota who collected his second award of the evening, narrowly beating compatriot Sergi Canos to the title which was presented by midfielder Alan McCormack.

Advertisement block