Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Cliff Crown to sit on Professional Game Board

Bees Chairman to represent EFL on FA Board

31 July 2017

Brentford Chairman Cliff Crown will sit as one of the EFL's representatives on the Professional Game Board which advises the FA Board on matters relating to the professional game.

Cliff was appointed as one of three Sky Bet Championship representatives to the EFL Board last summer and has now been selected as one of the EFL's representatives on the FA's Professional Game Board alongside EFL Chairman Ian Lenagan, Carlisle United's John Nixon and EFL Board Member James Rodwell.

The committee has a broad remit including administering the FA Cup, the national England set-up and the FA’s relationship with FIFA and UEFA.

As well as announcing Cliff's appointment to the PGB, the EFL has today confirmed that EFL Board Member James Rodwell will continue to represent EFL Clubs on the FA Board for the 2017/18 season.

Following recent FA governance reforms, the EFL is now able to nominate only one representative to the FA Board and James’ appointment was confirmed unanimously at last week’s EFL Board meeting. In addition, the EFL and the Premier League will jointly appoint a third Board Member to represent both organisations in due course.

As well as being entitled to nominate its representatives to the FA Board, the EFL also provides six members on the FA Council, with EFL Clubs continuing to appoint two non-EFL Board members as in previous seasons.

Steve Curwood (Fleetwood Town) and Katrien Meire (Charlton Athletic) have been elected to the FA Council following a ballot amongst the EFL’s 72 Clubs for 2017/18.

The remaining four places are to be filled with representatives from the EFL Board, with EFL Chairman Ian Lenagan being joined by Jez Moxey (Burton Albion), John Nixon and James Rodwell. In addition, Rob Coar (Blackburn Rovers) and Jez Moxey (Burton Albion) will represent the EFL on the Football Regulatory Authority while Cliff Crown (Brentford),  Ian Lenagan, John Nixon and James Rodwell will sit on the Professional Game Board.

Further Committee appointments will be confirmed in due course. 

Advertisement block