Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Lloyd Owusu inducted into Hall of Fame

13 January 2016

Striker to receive award at Friday’s Sky Bet Championship match with Burnley

Lloyd Owusu will be inducted into the Brentford FC Hall of Fame this Friday at our Sky Bet Championship match at home to Burnley. The striker, whose iconic Raise the Roof celebration made him a firm fans favourite, spent six seasons with The Bees over two spells in the late 1990’s and 2000’s and is travelling back specially from Australia to pick up the award. He will be joined at Griffin Park on Friday to pick up his award by former teammates Robert Quinn, Gareth Graham, Andy Scott, Ijah Anderson, Darren Powell, Paul Gibbs and Danny Boxall.

The tall, powerful striker joined The Bees on a free-transfer from Slough in 1998 and hit the ground running scoring 25 goals in the 1998/99 Division Three promotion winning season including the only goal in the 1-0 win away at Cambridge United which clinched the title. Two further productive seasons in Division Two followed but Lloyd’s final season with The Bees in 2001/02 would prove to be a memorable one as his 22 goals took The Bees to the brink of Division One only for Stoke City to run out 2-0 winners at Wembley in the Play-Off final.

After spells at Sheffield Wednesday and Reading, Lloyd returned to West London under Martin Allen in 2005. He netted 14 goals in the 2005/06 season as Brentford again lost in the Play-Offs but an injury sustained at a Ghanaian 2006 World Cup Training Camp ruled him out of much of the following season. By the time he returned in March Brentford were all but already relegated to League Two and he joined Yeovil on a free transfer at the end of the season. In total Lloyd scored 87 goals in 250 appearances at Griffin Park which leaves him seventh on the club’s all-time goalscoring charts.

The Brentford FC Hall of Fame was originally created in 1991 but was resurrected again in 2012. It is administered jointly by the Club and The Brentford FC Former Players’ Association. It recognises players across the entirety of Brentford’s existence from our Southern League days with Jimmy Jay right up to Kevin O’Connor who retired in 2015. Lloyd joins an ever-growing Brentford FC Hall of Fame which also includes Malcolm MacDonald, Dai Hopkins, Joe James, Ken Coote, Phil Holder, Dean Holdsworth, Jackie Graham, Alan Hawley, Bobby Ross, George Francis, Terry Evans, Bob Booker, Peter Gelson, Keith Millen, Alan Nelmes and Danis Salman.

Advertisement block