Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

New additions to Brentford FC Hall of Fame

4 May 2015

Kevin O'Connor and Marcus Gayle among those added to Brentford FC Hall of Fame

Two modern legends and a host of former stars have become the latest inductees in to the Brentford FC Hall of Fame.
Marcus Gayle and Kevin O’Connor were added to the Hall of Fame at the Club’s Player of the Season Awards Night last night, Sunday May 3.
They were each presented with a special commemorative salver by Peter Gilham.
The Club has also added 24 legends to the Hall of Fame posthumously.
They are: Harry Curtis, Gerry Cakebread, Ephraim Rhodes, Fred Monk, George Bristow, Jimmy Bain, Jimmy Cartmell, Arthur Bateman, Patsy Hendren, Ernie Muttitt, David McCulloch, Austin Underwood, Allan Jones, Chic Brodie, Jimmy Jay, Bill Gorman, Arthur Charlton, Fred Halliday, Jack Lane, Jack Holliday, Leslie Smith, Billy Scott, Jim Towers and Johnny Rainford.
Kevin is the first person in the Club’s history to be inducted in to the Hall of Fame while still at Brentford.
The one-club man made his 500th appearance in a Brentford shirt a year ago and is fourth on the all-time appearance list.
The 33-year-old signed professional terms with Brentford in 1999 after progressing through the Club’s youth system.
He made his debut in February 2000 against Wycombe Wanderers and in more than 15 years since he has filled just about every position on the pitch.
Kevin’s years with the club were marked with a testimonial match against Fulham in July 2010, a few months after his 400th appearance.
Now in his 17h season as a First Team player, he became only the fourth man to play 400 Football League games for The Bees when he featured against Bury on the first day of the 2012/13 power League One season.
He made his 500th appearance in all competitions against Stevenage on the final day of the 2013/14 season.
Kevin joined the coaching staff in a Player/Coach capacity last summer and has played a key role behind the scenes as Brentford clinched a place in the Sky Bet Championship Play-Offs.
He has made a total of 501 appearances for The Bees, 420 of them in the Football League, and scored 44 goals, 32 of them in the league.
Marcus is another graduate from the Brentford youth system, breaking through in the late 1980s.
He came in to the First Team reckoning as a winger and established himself under Phil Holder as The Bees won promotion as Barclays Division Three champions in 1992 a year after reaching the Play-Offs.
He left for Wimbledon in 1994 and had spells at Glasgow Rangers and Watford before returning in 2005.
Marcus was part of the Brentford squad that reached the third tier Play-Offs in both 2005 and 2006.
The Jamaican international – Marcus earned 18 caps, scored three goals and played at the 1998 World Cup – ended his Brentford career in 2006 with 230 appearances under his belt, 189 in the league, and having scored 28 goals, 24 in the league.
The 26 join an ever-growing Brentford FC Hall of Fame which also includes Malcolm MacDonald, Dai Hopkins, Joe James, Ken Coote Phil Holder, Dean Holdsworth, Jackie Graham, Alan Hawley, Bobby Ross, George Francis, Terry Evans, Bob Booker, Peter Gelson, Keith Millen, Alan Nelmes and Danis Salman.
The Hall of Fame is administered jointly by the Club, and The Brentford FC Former Players’ Association.

Advertisement block