Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Brentford Team of Decade winners confirmed

3 March 2015

Supporters poll decides best Goalkeeper, Defender, Midfielder and Striker of last ten years

To mark ten years of the Football League Awards, The Football League and Football Manager teamed up to find a ‘Team of the Decade’ based on players that have starred for Football League clubs in that period.
As part of the selection process Brentford fans were invited to nominate up to four players to go forward to the judges – one goalkeeper, one defender, one midfielder and one forward. 
The judges would then base their selection of the final XI on performances by players in Football League matches.
Over the last few weeks we have received more than 2,300 votes over the four categories and we can now reveal the four winning players.
Goalkeeper of Decade Wojciech Szczesny - The Arsenal goalkeeper only made 28 appearances for the club but put in a string of match winning performances for Andy Scott's side.
Defender of Decade Michael Turner - The tall central defender made 110 starts over two seasons under Martin Allen helping The Bees to two play-off semi finals and the Fifth Round of the FA Cup in consecutive seasons.
Midfielder of Decade Jonathan Douglas - The Irish midfielder joined The Bees in 2011 and was a key part of the play-off final losing team of 2012/13 and the Sky Bet League One promotion side of 2013/14 and has adapted well to life in the Sky Bet Championship scoring six goals in 32 matches.
Striker of Decade Lloyd Owusu - A club legend Lloyd had two spells at Griffin Park scoring 87 goals in 250 appearances for The Bees helping them to League One play-offs in 2005/06 as well as promotion from Division Three in 1998/99 and the Division Two play-off final in 2001/02
Our nominated players will now be put forward for consideration for inclusion in the Football Manager Team of the Decade for the Football League Awards 2015. 
The final team of 11 players will be announced at the annual Awards ceremony on Sunday 19th April at The Brewery, London – the tenth anniversary of the event.
The shortlist for manager of the Team of the Decade will be decided with help from the Football Manager online community.
To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block