Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Last day to nominate Brentford defender of the decade for the Football League Awards' Team of the Decade

16 February 2015

Special Football League prize created to mark ten years of the Football League Awards

To mark ten years of the Football League Awards, The Football League and Football Manager have teamed up to find a ‘Team of the Decade’ based on players that have starred for Football League clubs in that period.
As part of the selection process we can nominate up to four players to go forward to the judges – one goalkeeper, one defender, one midfielder and one forward. 
The judges will base their selection of the final XI on performances by players in Football League matches.
We recently ran a poll to find the best Brentford goalkeeper of the last ten years with Wojciech Szczesny coming out on top, narrowly beating current number one David Button.
Our focus now shifts to choosing who you think would be The Bees best defender of the last ten years and we have drawn up the following shortlist:
(Please note there is a minimum qualification of 50 games to be added to this shortlist)
Michael Turner: The defender spent two years in West London making 110 appearances and scoring three goals, being voted Players' Player of the Year in 2004/05 and Supporters's Player of the Year in 2005/06
Sam Sodje: Ever popular, Sam scored 14 goals in 100 appearances for The Bees and made the PFA League One Team of the Year in 2005/06
Karleigh Osborne: A product of Brentford's Academy, Karleigh spent eight years at Griffin Park making 185 appearances and helping Brentford to the League Two title in 2008/09
Alan Bennett: The Irish defender had three spells at Brentford and made 44 appearances in Brentford's title winning season of 2008/09.
Ryan Dickson: Picked up in 2007, Ryan made 106 appearances for Brentford, including 43 in the promotion winning season of 2008/09.
Leon Legge: Leon joined from non-league and became an instant favourite, making 115 appearances over three-and-a-half years at the club.
Jake Bidwell: The 21-year-old established himself as first choice left-back aged 18 and is approaching 150 appearances for the club, making the PFA League One Team of the Year for 2013/14.
Harlee Dean: In three-and-a-half years at TW8 Harlee has established himself as a commanding centre-back making 142 appearances, scoring seven goals.
Tony Craig: Signed from Millwall in 2012, Tony captained The Bees for large parts of the League One promotion season and picked up the Players' Player of the Season and Bees Travel Club Player of the Season awards in 2013/14.
Alan McCormack: In his first season at Griffin Park Alan was a near ever-present as Brentford won promotion, picking up the Supporters' Player of the Year Award and being named in the League One Team of the Year. 
We want fans to help us decide our club nominations by voting for their best defender of the last decade on The Wall.
Click on the link here and vote for your favourite from our shortlist.
Closing date for voting is 5pm today, Monday 16th January.
Our nominated players will then be put forward for consideration for inclusion in the Football Manager Team of the Decade for the Football League Awards 2015. 
The final team of 11 players will be announced at the annual Awards ceremony on Sunday 19th April at The Brewery, London – the tenth anniversary of the event.
The shortlist for manager of the Team of the Decade will be decided with help from the Football Manager online community.
To find out more about The Football League Awards please visit

Advertisement block