Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News


25 May 2014

Alan McCormack and Adam Forshaw of Brentford named in League One Team of the Year with Jake Bidwell a substitute

Brentford duo Adam Forshaw and Alan McCormack have been named in the Sky Bet League One Team of the Year while Jake Bidwell was selected as a substitute.

The League One Team of the Year was announced by the Football League on Friday, May 23.

It was selected by Manish Bhasin, Leroy Rosenior and Mark Clemmit, all from BBC Sport's The Football League Show, and revealed in the Sky Bet League One Play-Off Final programme.

Alan was named as the right back in the team while Adam was selected in central midfield.

Jake missed out to Scott Golbourne, of Wolverhampton Wanderers, for the left back position but was named as a substitute.

Adam has collected a series of awards this season.

He was named Sky Bet League One Player of the Year, a prize voted for by the managers of League One clubs, at the Football League Awards in March, and selected in the PFA League One Team of the Year, among other honours.

The midfield player scored eight goals and set up another five in 40 games this season.

Alan, who was named Player of the Year by Brentford supporters, played 45 games for The Bees this season after arriving from Swindon Town in the summer.

He played 43 of those in a Sky Bet League One campaign that saw Brentford finish second and win promotion to The Championship.

Alan contributed two goals – against Staines Town, in the FA Cup with Budweiser, and Coventry City – and made a nine assists.

He played both in midfield and at right back this term and helped The Bees to 20 Sky Bet League One clean sheets.

Jake – who was also named in the PFA Team – played 41 games this season, contributing five assists.


The full team is: , Danny Batth (Wolves),Alan McCormackCarl Ikeme (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Harry Maguire (Sheffield United), Scott Golbourne (Wolves); Dean Cox (Leyton Orient)Adam Forshaw, Kevin McDonald (Wolves), Bakary Sako (Wolves); Britt Assombalonga (Peterborough United), Kieran Agard (Rotherham United)

, Ben Pringle (Rotherham), Romain Vincelot (Leyton Orient), Sam Baldock (Bristol City), Callum Wilson (Coventry City)Jake BidwellSubstitutes:


More on the team can be seen here.

Advertisement block