Skip to main content Skip to site footer


29 April 2013

Prizes handed out at annual end-of-season dinner

The awards were shared at the annual Brentford Football Club presentation dinner, the Big Red Ball, which took place last night.

The event, held at The Holiday Inn, Brentford Lock, saw more than 420 in attendance to celebrate the 2012/13 season, which is still far from over.

Guests of Honour included Paralympic silver medallist Andy Lapthorne – a Club and Brentford FC Community Sports Trust Ambassador – and Natalie Sawyer, from Sky Sports News.

Jamie Bates, Graham Benstead, Terry Evans, Marcus Gayle and Dean Holdsworth – part of the Brentford team that won the 1991/92 Barclays Division Three championship – were also in attendance

A series of awards were handed out at the event.

Dean Holdsworth, who scored 38 goals during that memorable season, was inducted in to the Brentford FC Hall of Fame.

The striker, who scored 76 goals in 145 games for The Bees in almost three seasons at the Club, was the fifth man to be inducted in to the Hall of Fame.

He joins Phil Holder, who was Brentford Manager during the 1991/92 season, and Malcolm McDonald, who played for and managed The Bees.

The other two in the Club’s Hall of Fame are two men who were part of the Brentford team that won the 1942 London War Cup at Wembley – Joe James, who played at centre half during the Club’s 1930s heyday, and Idris ‘Dai’ Hopkins, who ended his career as Brentford’s most capped player, having played 12 times for Wales, and scored 80 goals in 314 games for The Bees, as well as many more in Wartime football.

The achievements of the current squad were also marked during the ceremony.

Clayton Donaldson – who has scored 22 goals this season and also chipped in with 13 assists – was named Supporters’ ‘Player of the Year’.

He beat off central defender Harlee Dean, who has played 53 games in his first full season as a First Team footballer, who finished in second.

Harlee did, however, pick up the Bees Travel Club ‘Player of the Year’ award, voted for by those who travel on the Supporters’ Association coaches to away matches, for his performances away from home this season.

The Players’ ‘Player of the Year’ Award – which has been brought back this season after a long hiatus – was shared by Harlee Dean and Simon Moore, who has kept 12 clean sheets in 49 games this term.

The Community ‘Player of the Year’ prize, awarded for work in the community and with Brentford FC Community Sports Trust, was won by Clayton Donaldson.

The Bees Player ‘Outstanding Moment of the Season’ award was also won by Clayton Donaldson, for his goal in the 3-2 come-from-behind win against Portsmouth earlier this month.

The Bees Player Show team, who produce the home match coverage for the Bees Player premium website service, also awarded Manager Uwe Rösler and his coaching staff an award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to the Season’.

The Griffin Park Grapevine ‘Player of the Season’ award, voted for by members of the unofficial forum during the season on a match-by-match basis, was won by Adam Forshaw, who has scored four goals and contributed six assists in 50 games in his first full season at Griffin Park.

The final award, and the most coveted among the squad, the ‘Hottie of the Year’ prize, was won by Jonathan Douglas.

More from the Big Red Ball will follow on this week.

Full coverage of the presentations will be on Bees Player later this week.

Advertisement block