The Bees boss was announced as the 2020 winner ahead of this weekend's Play-Off Final which saw him become only the second man in history to lead Brentford to the top flight of English football.

The nomination for Thomas referenced Brentford's "offensive attitude and style of play" while taking The Bees their best finish in 70 years. In 2020 The Bees also reached the Semi-Finals of a major cup competition for the first time ever, before losing to Tottenham Hotspur in the Carabao Cup Semi-Final and start a 21-game unbeaten run in the Championship, one of the longest ever recorded in the second tier.

Thomas beat AGF Aarhus's David Neilsen, Niels Fredriksen of Brøndby IF and FC Midtjylland Head Coach Brian Priske to the award which was voted for by fellow coaches in Denmark.

Previous winners of the Danish Football Association Coach of the Year prize have included Åge Hareide, Morten Olsen, Ståle Solbakken, and current Denmark Head Coach Kasper Hjulmand.