Kristoffer Ajer’s Norway claimed an emphatic 5-1 win whilst Christian Nørgaard and Mathias Jensen’s Denmark also hit five goals as they overcame Israel.

Starting with the Norwegians, there was 90 minutes of game time for Kristoffer as they beat Gibraltar at the Ullevaal Stadion. An Erling Haaland hat-trick helped the side to the win whilst Kristian Thorstvedt and Alexander Sørloth also grabbed goals. Norway are now second in Group G, level on points with Netherlands.

As for the Danes and their impressive win, Christian Nørgaard was an 83rd minute substitute whilst Mathias Jensen was unused for the victory. Goals from Yussuf Poulsen, Simon Kjaer, Andreas Skov Olsen, Thomas Delaney and Andreas Cornelius gave the side a convincing win on home soil. They are in a strong position at the top of their group having claimed six wins from their six qualifying matches.

There was a tough night for Turkey as they were heavily beaten away in Amsterdam as they conceded six against Netherlands. Halil Dervişoğlu entered the field with four minutes remaining during Turkey’s heavy defeat away in Amsterdam. Halil did manage to get an assist as he set up Cengiz Ünder in stoppage time. Netherlands were rampant throughout and they took the lead after just one minute through Davy Klaassen before a Memphis Depay hat-trick really put the home side into a commanding lead. Çağlar Söyüncü was also sent off for Turkey on 44 minutes which made life harder for the side. Guus Til and Donyel Malen were also on the scoresheet for the Dutch. Turkey are third in Group G behind Kristoffer Ajer’s Norway and Netherlands.

Staying in Europe, Marcus Forss was an unused substitute in Finland’s 2-0 defeat away against France. Antoine Griezmann grabbed both goals for the French. Finland are third in their group having claimed five points from their opening four games.

Finally, also in the World Cup Qualification action was Saman Ghoddos as he played the final 30 minutes as Iran beat Iraq 3-0 to make it two wins from two in their qualification campaign. Alireza Jahanbakhsh, Mehdi Taremia and Ali Gholizadeh all found the net for Iran in Doha’s Khalifa International Stadium.