Six EFL clubs were recognised last week as the regional winners of the Your Move Community Club of the Year. The winners were announced on Wednesday, April 14, as part of the EFL’s Day of Action. More on the Day of Action can be seen here.

The ongoing work of EFL clubs highlights the power of football as a force for good in a year when communities have needed them most. During the pandemic EFL clubs, including Brentford, have provided critical support to the communities they serve, from delivering important food parcels to those most at risk to helping people who are isolated and suffering from loneliness. The six winners have been chosen for the outstanding impact they continue to have in changing people’s lives for the better across a wide range of areas including: physical and mental wellbeing, diversity and inclusion, employability and tackling loneliness.

2021 Your Move Community Clubs of the Year: North East and Yorkshire – Sunderland AFC North West – Blackburn Rovers Midlands – Port Vale London – Watford South East and East – Portsmouth South West and Wales – Bristol Rovers

In addition, the divisional winners of the 2021 PFA Players in the Community have also been announced. The award recognises the positive impact players can have ‘off the pitch’ and is given to those that go above and beyond what would normally be expected, either due to the breadth of involvement or for the depth of support for one particular project. 2021 PFA Player in the Community divisional winners: Championship – Will Vaulks, Cardiff City League One – Alex Rodman, Bristol Rovers League Two – Matty Dolan, Newport County

The six clubs and three players will receive their awards at a special virtual EFL Community Awards event on Wednesday 28 April. The overall winner of both awards will be announced at the EFL Awards, broadcast live on Sky Sports Football on Thursday 29 April at 7.30pm.