The draw for the First Round of the Carabao Cup will take place this week, and for the first time in almost 50 years, it will not include Brentford. The Bees will enter the competition at the Second Round stage, along with all other Premier League sides that are not in European competition. West Bromwich Albion and Fulham also enter in the Second Round.

The 70 remaining EFL clubs will be drawn in to First Round ties tomorrow, Thursday 24 June. First Round ties are scheduled to be played on the week commencing 9 August. The dates for other rounds have not yet been published. Full information on the Carabao Cup draw can be seen here.

When Brentford enter the competition they will be looking to repeat the success of last year. The Bees beat four Premier League sides on their way to the Semi-Final. It was the first time Brentford had ever reached the last four of a major competition. The only other times The Bees entered in the Second Round were in 1960, when they were drawn a bye, and 1965, when only 38 teams were in the First Round.

Brentford's run came to an end against Tottenham Hotspur. The Bees head beaten Southampton, West Brom, Fulham and Newcastle United to reach that stage. Tottenham then lost to Manchester City in the Final in April.