98-year-old Queen Bee Audrey had already secured the YouGov Sport Sky Bet Championship Supporter of the Year but was beaten to the overall prize by the Shrewsbury Town duo of Roger Groves and Mike Davis while Jason Evans missed out on the male Community Education Football Alliance (CEFA) Player of the Season award to Portsmouth's Harvey Hughes.

Elsewhere, on the night Teemu Pukki, James Collins and James Norwood were named the Sky Bet Players of the Season for their respective divisions at tonight’s 2019 EFL Awards. It was a double celebration for The Canaries as Max Aarons picked up the EA Sports Young Player of the Season.

The Football Manager Team of the Season featured five players from the Sky Bet Championship, three from Sky Bet League One, three from Sky Bet League Two, with Chris Wilder of Sheffield United managing the side.

Adam Davies

Max Aarons – Krystian Pearce – Liam Cooper – James Justin

Jay O’Shea – Alex Mowatt – Jarrod Bowen

James Norwood – Billy Sharp – Teemu Pukki

Billy Sharp claimed the Screwfix Moment of the Season after becoming the leading goalscorer in the EFL this century when scoring his 220th goal since making his debut in 2004, overtaking former Southampton and England striker, Rickie Lambert.

Ruben Neves won the 2018 Hawk-Eye Goal of the Year for his outrageous strike against Derby County – where he flicked the ball up before his dipping volley found the corner from all of 30-yards - voted for on the night by those in attendance.

Former Rochdale midfielder Joe Thompson joined Kevin O'Connor in receiving the prestigious Sir Tom Finney Award. The award is presented to a player who has had an exceptional career in the EFL and epitomises the man after which this award is named. This special award gives the EFL the opportunity to recognise players who, like Sir Tom before them, have set standards for others to aspire to and reached the end of a truly outstanding playing career.

Thompson has been an inspiration to everyone, including football as a whole for what he has achieved in the game as a player and in his own personal battles. Having battled back from Hodgkin Lymphoma, not once but twice, he etched his name in the Clubs history books after scoring the winning goal to keep Rochdale in the Sky Bet League One.

Other winners on the night were Dave Allison (Contribution to League Football), Portsmouth FC  (Checkatrade Community Club of the Year), Doncaster Rovers (AmazeRealise Family Club of the Year), and Will Vaulks (PFA Player in the Community).